Creating a Site

Modified on Fri, 05 Jan 2024 at 09:24 AM

A Site is intended to link multiple networks that are in the same location and belong to a single project (e.g. Different floors of an office building).


The Site feature allows you to control multiple networks simultaneously, create site-wide scenes and site-wide timers. For example, a building with three floors could have a separate network for each floor and a site could then be used to connect the three floors and control them simultaneously.


To use this feature, the feature must first be enabled in the App settings section. Each network in the site must be shared and have a gateway enabled. 

 

It is recommended not to make any changes to a network once it has been added to a site.



Creating a Site


  • Enable the Site feature by selecting More > App Settings > Site features enabled.
  • Create a Site account: More > Account > Create account and enter the required details
  • Navigate to More > Change site (or select Sites from the app’s start page)
  • Select Create a new site or push the + in the top right corner


The new site should now appear in the Change site list.



Select the site you require and add networks to the site:


  • Select Add a network to site and then select a network from the displayed networks list. More networks can be added by selecting the + icon
  • Select Done when you have added your networks to your site.




Privileges 

After creating a Site, more people can be given access to it, or just specific networks that are part of that Site, if they also have their own Site account.


  • Site access Privileges

To grant others access to a Site, select the specific Site, select More > Privileges and tap +. Enter a valid Site account email address for the person you wish to grant access to. Then select their level of access. There are three different levels of site privileges that can be configured:


  • User (default) Can use the Site or network but cannot make any modifications.
  • Manager Can use the Site or network and can modify settings but cannot assign privileges to the other accounts.
  • Admin Can modify all the settings and can also assign privileges to other accounts.


  • Network only Privileges

Access privileges only to a network that is part of that Site can be granted (i.e. No access to the Site itself, only access to a network that is part of the Site).


Select the specific Site and then select (tap) the network to which access is to be granted. This will open the network view. Then navigate to More > Privileges and tap +. Enter a valid Site account email address for the person you wish to grant access to. Then select their level of access. There are three different levels of site privileges that can be configured:


  • User (default) Can use the Network but cannot make any modifications.
  • Manager Can use the Network and modify settings but cannot give privileges to other accounts.
  • Admin Can modify all the Network settings and can also assign privileges for that Network to others with a Site account (An additional Privileges option will be visible under the Network settings when viewing the Network).


To gain access to networks to which you have been assigned Privileges, log in to your Site account and then go to Change networks and refresh the list to see Networks you have access to. You will not be able to see or use the Site itself.


If you log out from your Site account you will not lose access to the network, but you will not have any manager or Admin rights to the network (if those had been granted). Log back into your Site account to regain the full assigned privileges to the network.


If you have network privileges granted to you Site account, there is no need to “Log in to network” in the Change network view. In fact, unless you know the specific network login credentials, login via the Log in to network option will not be possible.


Summary:

  • Site accounts granted Site Privileges have access to all networks that are part of the Site. 
  • Site accounts only granted Network Privileges have access to the Networks only and cannot see the Site.


Note:

Do not add Privileges for a Site account at both Site and Network level, especially if the assigned privileges are different. The highest access privilege will take priority in such case, regardless of if it is assigned at Site or Network level. i.e. Someone with a “User” Site privilege and “Admin” Network Privilege will actually have Admin Site privilege.


Comparison views of where to set the different privileges:


SITE privileges

Network privileges




Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article